What’s in a name?

You know how there are names that resonate so strongly with you that you can’t hear them without going back in time, for good or ill, to some previous era? For example: I went to elementary school with a girl we shall call Harriet, who went to the doctors because of some discomfort, to have the doctor find that she had put quarters up her vagina. Now, it is imPOSSIBLE for me to hear the name Harriet without thinking of loose change in compromising locations. So I don’t care for the name.

I felt like that about naming this blog. What could I choose that would be quirky, portray a bit of what I hope to communicate about (which remains a mystery, but still…), be a bit of a reflection of me, and also not be nerdy (belying the “reflection of me” previously mentioned).

Luckily, I have a friend who is a writer, so I asked for his suggestions. They are as follows:

Cheerleader Faceplant
The Girl with Framed Frogs in her House
Tart Sauce
Keyboard Graffiti
Manta Ray Rockband
QWERTY Laundry
Bouquet of Asteroids
A Ruiner of Things
Dead Inside; Party in the Yard
Rhymes With Explosion
The Killer Inside My Nose
Nipple-clamps and Chocolate
Sarah’s Sense of Snow
As tempting as it was to go with The Killer Inside My Nose, or Nipple Clamps and Chocolate, and ignoring any implied message attached to A Ruiner of Things, I went with Keyboard Graffiti. I love it! It implies a sense of randomness, creativity, colours and surprise.
A name I can live with.
J – your cheque is in the mail.
5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “What’s in a name?

  1. YAY! Love the new name and cannot wait to read more : ) Welcome back!

  2. Sandi

    Love the name! I wish I had thought of QWERTY Laundry. That one is AWESOME. Can’t wait to read more.

  3. Nice imagey thingy at the top. 🙂 Also, welcome back!

  4. Aimee

    Maybe I should start a blog…I’ll call it “Aimee’s sense of sunshine”…a little rip on “Sarah’s sense of snow”, I like it!

  5. Chris

    So “Turbo Tongue” was already taken???

    Hi Sarah. Long time! Spent an exciting evening goolging names from the past, and stumbled across your blog. How are things?

    Chris

Leave a Reply

